top of page

10 Years in the Making

Updated: Oct 25, 2019

November 8 2019




One year ago I was at a loss in my music career.  I thought I had been doing everything right for over 10 years, but nothing was advancing the way I wanted it to.  I had no songs on any streaming platforms,  I had 1000s of songs written but still no way to show anyone how hard I had been working other than at a show with my guitar, I had no one to help me or anyone giving me direction. I had consistently been working with crummy producers who would scam me or try to get me to do things I wouldn't do with anyone or refuse to work with me if I wouldn't dress or act a certain way towards them. I never caved. That's not me nor will it ever be.



One year ago I was lost, frustrated and upset that my music was going nowhere and I had such a small audience even though I had been working and performing music for about 10 years.   I had no idea what I was doing.   I didn't have a famous family member to show me the way. A famous person didn't find me on the street and show me the way. I was at it alone. Everything I have ever accomplished has been from work. No magic potion or person was going to save me.



I had been performing and writing since high school, I had been that annoying theatre girl, performed at every show I could get my hands on, moved and lived in Nashville for music.   I auditioned for Broadway, TV shows, reality shows, movies, even comedy shows.  I worked with producers and agents in LA, got an agent in AZ, I had performed at every venue and met every person in the entertainment industry I could. I had gotten record deals in Nashville, was on small network shows, I took time out of everything I had to go to another show.  It was all I ever cared about. I was spreading myself so thin to do more when I didn’t know what else to do.   I had graduated and became an engineer still doing all this while working 60 hour weeks.



All I wanted to do was music, but I had no help, no direction, no one to turn to.  I had worked with so many people with bad intentions in the past, so many people who just wanted to take advantage of me and wanted to see if I would fall for it.  Sometimes I did, but never as hard as I could have.  I was mad.  I was upset that nothing I did for so long was working.  I would put on shows every second I could to the maybe 10 people in the audience.  I would do anything I could because it was the only thing that has ever made me feel SO DAMN HAPPY. .. but I would always think… was this something that was just not meant for me for as a career?  Will I just be telling people what I did as a hobby and put my life into for years with no real results?  Am I destined to just do this on the side of a real career forever?





One year ago I decided that I was not going to keep feeling sorry for myself and I decided that I was going to make my own music on my own.   I started one year ago when I dropped my first single in 2 years called I choose you produced by a guy I met on my European gallivant through Europe.   I didn’t know if it would be any good.  I didn’t know how to record correctly, didn’t have a good mic, know how to produce, how to do any of that professional stuff.  I could plug my guitar in and sing at a show, but that’s about all.  I didn’t know how to put music on Spotify, how to submit it for consideration, how to make a good video for marketing, how to build a website etc etc….but hey now I do! Now I know so much more than I did a year ago when it comes to marketing, music, writing, producing, and getting myself out there. This may not be the music I had pictured it would be, but I am so god damn proud of myself for it.   I have taken a year off of doing shows, but that is because I have been working so hard on this and other aspects of my life.  I have been not only making the music that you have all been so wonderful to listen to this past year, but I have been making my debut EP as well. 



It may be just about 5 years too late, but she is here!!! 



I have been dreaming and hoping that one day I would be able to produce and put out my own music.  Some of this music I wrote years ago.  I know one I wrote on the street in Nashville when I was waiting to perform at the mall.  I was so mad at this person I knew right before I left and it came out in a minute.  Right on the street.  I have thousands of songs done written about every moment of my life.  I guess it is how I have gotten through hard and happy times in my life when I didn’t know how to say them myself. I know that's cliche, but it's true. I have always been a little quiet and more to myself when it came to personal issues - so music is where I put it.   It cheered me up when I was sad, and made me even more excited when I was so happy!!



I am so excited for you all to hear it.  I am so proud to finally be putting it out there, and so excited for the many many more songs and EPs to come. 



Thank you to all the amazing people I met along the way that helped me make the music I already have out there and ones that have helped me make any part of this EP.  From the 12 hours of work to the 5+ hours in the studio, to the writing sessions, to helping me make music videos, to the just me in my bedroom writing and thinking.  Thank you.  I have had no direction in this industry ever and I am so thankful for you to even give me a small small light in the way.  There are so many of you to thank, and you are a breath of fresh air. I couldn't have done this without you. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for believing in me.  



If I have learned anything this year it is that no in the world is going to save you but you.  No one on Earth is going to be a bigger cheerleader or want to see you succeed than you.  And yeah, I wouldn’t consider myself had “made it” or be a “real musician” but I just decided one year ago to stop waiting for someone to save me (producer/agent/ some magical fairy one night that would give me the answer) and I just made my own music.  I had spent years and years meeting with people that I thought would help me get my “big break”  Or make me music or someone was going to save me! Oh they’re going to be my in? 


No. 

I was my in. 

I am my in. 


Thanks to everyone who had ever come to my shows or listened to my music.  Thank you for being the one in the audience. Thank you for coming to shows you didn't know the artist to see me open for them. Thank you for taking time out of your schedules to support me. I can’t thank you enough.  I know exactly who you are and I love you so much.







Here she is. My baby My first child



Go Up EP by Haley Tibbs November 8 2019

0 comments
bottom of page